Institute for Media Strategies

"Having the chance to see the best-in-class concepts and strategies is always exciting. I’m looking forward to seeing brilliant ideas and their successful implementations."

Dietmar Schantin founded the Institute for Media Strategies in 2012, following ground breaking work in media strategy and technology in a decade that brought profound changes to the industry. He has worked with a wide range of media organizations, including the Telegraph Media Group, Ringier, the Hindustan Times, New Zealand Herald, Dow Jones and many others. Dietmar previously served as Executive Director of WAN-IFRA, the global association of news publishers, where he was responsible for the organisation’s world-wide consultancy, training and event activities for the digitalisation of media organisations. He began his career as a studio manager at the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation, followed by five years as a management consultant in Switzerland in the telecommunications and FMCG industries. He then became Managing Director of a media company spin-off specialising in applying digital know-how to traditional businesses. Dietmar, an Austrian based in Austria and UK, is on jury panels of international digital media awards and speaks regularly at international media conferences about growth strategies and business transformation for the media industry. He holds a Ph.D in Economics and Technology, where his main focus was on business strategy development and business modelling.

Judging panel

Anna Bassi

Editor, The Week Junior

Anna Watkins

Chief Executive

Ashley Highfield

Johnston Press

Bill Hagerty

British Journalism Review

Chris Russell


Conor McNicholas


Dietmar Schantin

Institute for Media Strategies

Esra Dogramaci

Senior Editor, Digital
Deutsche Welle

Ian Burrell

Media journalist and consultant.

Iain Hepburn

Development journalist
BBC Sport Online

James Martin

Executive editor
The Huffington Post UK

Jo Morrell

Managing Editor
The Telegraph

Jon Snow

Channel 4 News

Kate Ward

Vice President of International

Keith Walker

Digital Director, Innovation
Time Inc. UK

Kevin O'Byrne

Creative Solutions Director
Time Out

Laura Swinton

Global editor
Little Black Book

Liz Vercoe

Editor and journalist

Maggie Hitchins

Digital editor-in-chief

Megan Lucero

Director of the Local Data Lab
The Bureau of Investigative Journalism

Neil Hunter

Assistant Digital Editor (Operations)

Nick Creed

The Drum

Patrick Falconer

Managing Director -United Kingdom
The New York Times

Paul Hood

Head of Digital – Technology Division

Peter Clifton

Press Association

Sarah Jones

Sarah Jones Reports LLC

Seb Joseph

News Editor
The Drum

Yasir Khan

Digital Editor